Integrated Constraints on the Geochemistry and Hydrogeology of Oceanic and Continental Hydrothermal Systems

Submit an Abstract to this Session

Session ID#: 24998

Session Description:
Oceanic and continental hydrothermal systems have profoundly impacted the chemical composition and oxidation state of Earth’s lithosphere-hydrosphere-atmosphere system and shaped biological evolution throughout Earth history.  Furthermore, they provide key societal benefits by producing ore deposits and concentrating geothermal heat for energy extraction.  Over the past decade, our ability to quantitatively evaluate and predict the geochemical and hydrogeological evolution of these systems has rapidly evolved through the application of novel, high-resolution characterization techniques, non-traditional stable isotope systematics, and numerical models.  In this session, we invite contributions focusing on measurements of active and ancient hydrothermal systems, experimental exploration of (bio)geochemical interactions, and integrative geochemical and/or reactive transport models that provide constraints imperative for a better understanding of the geochemistry and hydrogeology of the diverse hydrothermal environments encountered in both oceanic and continental settings.
Primary Convener:  Benjamin M Tutolo, University of Oxford, Department of Earth Sciences, Oxford, United Kingdom
Convener:  Drew D Syverson, Monash University, Melbourne, VIC, Australia
Co-Organized with:
Volcanology, Geochemistry and Petrology, and Hydrology

  • B - Biogeosciences
  • H - Hydrology
  • OS - Ocean Sciences
Index Terms:

Abstracts Submitted to this Session:

Adam N Price, University of California Santa Cruz, Santa Cruz, CA, United States, Cary Lindsey, University of Idaho, Moscow, ID, United States and Jerry Paul Fairley Jr, Univ Idaho, Moscow, ID, United States
Christie Cino1, William E Seyfried Jr1, Chunyang Tan1 and Qi Fu2, (1)University of Minnesota Twin Cities, Minneapolis, MN, United States, (2)University of Houston, Houston, TX, United States
Tomohiro Toki1, Tsubasa Otake2, Jun-Ichiro Ishibashi3, Yohei Matsui4, Shinsuke Kawagucci4, Hirokazu Kato5, Shigeshi Fuchida6, Rena Miyahara3, Akihi Tsutsumi3, Ryuhei Kawakita2, Hirotaka Uza1, Riki Uehara1, Ryuichi Shinjo1, Tatsuo Nozaki7, Hidenori Kumagai4, Lena Maeda8 and CK16-05 on-board member, (1)University of the Ryukyus, Okinawa, Japan, (2)Hokkaido University, Sapporo, Japan, (3)Kyushu University, Fukuoka, Japan, (4)JAMSTEC, Yokosuka, Japan, (5)University of Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan, (6)NIES, Tsukuba, Japan, (7)JAMSTEC, Yokosuka Kanagawa, Japan, (8)CDEX, Yokohama, Japan