Increasing STEM Equity and Retention through Community Engagement

Possible Alternate Format: If this session is allocated an oral session, the convener can choose to have lightning style presentations that are quicker and more focused than a traditional session. Learn more

Session ID#: 26390

Session Description:
How are institutions and communities of practice reflecting and adapting in order to transform the K-gray STEM pathways to be more inclusive? Across the country, leaders in education and STEM fields are collaboratively engaging their communities to increase diverse voices, leadership, mentoring, and practices (pedagogy and professional development) to increase access and retention rates in STEM education and professional fields. In this session, we welcome submissions that share inclusive STEM strategies from multiple levels (K-PhD classrooms to multi-agencies or organizational levels). We welcome case studies that highlight models and community building processes and practices that co-create new models of STEM engagement, as well as challenges, lessons learned, and calls to action.
Primary Convener:  Kristin Wegner, The GLOBE Program/UCAR, Boulder, CO, United States
Conveners:  Janelle Johnson, Metropolitan State University of Denver, Education, Denver, CO, United States, Jennifer Bourgeault, University of New Hampshire Main Campus, Durham, NH, United States and Tony Murphy, University Corporation for Atmospheric Research, The GLOBE Program, Boulder, CO, United States

Abstracts Submitted to this Session:

Nora Richter1,2, Richard S Vachula2, Alyssa Pascuzzo3 and Olga Prilipko Huber2, (1)Marine Biological Laboratory, Woods Hole, MA, United States, (2)Brown University, Providence, RI, United States, (3)Brown University, Earth, Environmental and Planetary Sciences, Providence, RI, United States
Tina Harte, NASA Langley Research Center, Hampton, VA, United States and Jessica Taylor, NASA Langley, Newport News, VA, United States
Tara C. Langus, University of Nevada Reno, Reno, NV, United States and Regina N Tempel, University of Nevada, Reno, College of Science, Reno, NV, United States
Zacha M Ortiz-Correa1, Jens Lautenbach2, Eframir Franco-Diaz2, Shikha Raizada2, Tapasi Ghosh2, Edgard Rivera-Valentín2 and Andrew Ortiz2, (1)Trujillo Alto, United States, (2)Arecibo Observatory, Arecibo, PR, United States
Nathan Sorey1,2 and C. Dianne Phillips2, (1)University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, AR, United States, (2)Northwest Arkansas Community College, Science and Mathematics Division, Bentonville, AR, United States

See more of: Education