The Meteorology and Climatology of Lightning and General Contributions II Posters

Session ID#: 10278

Session Description:
In recent years, lightning observations have been increasingly related to the kinematic and microphysical evolution of thunderstorms, including the risk of severe weather. This approach has also been applied to larger storms, such as mesoscale convective systems/complexes and tropical cyclones. Moreover, lightning has been successfully used to fill gaps in the meteorological observing network, including using lightning to estimate precipitation rate and ingesting lightning observations into data assimilation schemes for numerical weather prediction. Lightning and its relationship to climate and climate change is another active area of study. All of this work has developed in concert with the growth of lightning detection networks in number, resolution, and sensitivity, and in preparation for the launch of new space-based lightning observing systems on the forthcoming GOES-R satellite as well as on the International Space Station. This session solicits abstracts describing research on any of the above topics, as well as related areas.
Primary Convener:  Timothy J Lang, NASA Marshall Space Flight Center, Huntsville, United States
Conveners:  Steven J Goodman, NOAA NESDIS, GOES-R Program Office, Greenbelt, MD, United States and Christopher J Schultz, NASA Marshall Space Flght Ctr, Huntsville, AL, United States
Chairs:  Kristin M Calhoun, University of Oklahoma Norman Campus, Cooperative Institute for Mesoscale Meteorological Studies, Norman, United States and Maribeth Stolzenburg, University of Mississippi Main Campus, University, MS, United States
OSPA Liaison:  Morris Cohen, Georgia Institute of Technology Main Campus, School of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Atlanta, United States
Index Terms:

3304 Atmospheric electricity [ATMOSPHERIC PROCESSES]
3314 Convective processes [ATMOSPHERIC PROCESSES]
3354 Precipitation [ATMOSPHERIC PROCESSES]

Abstracts Submitted to this Session:

Michael Stock1, Ting Wu2, Yasuhiro Akiyama3, Zen Kawasaki3 and Tomoo Ushio4, (1)Earth Networks Inc., Germantown, United States, (2)Osaka University, Suita, Japan, (3)Osaka University, Osaka, Japan, (4)Osaka University, Division of Electrical, Electronic, and Infocommunications Engineering, Osaka, Japan
Zen Kawasaki, Osaka University, Osaka, Japan
Anatoliy Lozbin1, Alexander Inchin1, Yuri Shpadi1, Pavel Inchin2, Maxim Shpadi1, Galymzhan Ayazbayev1, Rakhim Bykayev1, Lyudmila Mailibayeva1 and Anatoly V Streltsov2, (1)Institute of Space Techniques and Technologies, Almaty, Kazakhstan, (2)Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, Daytona Beach, FL, United States
Michihiro Matsui, Franklin Japan Corporation, Engineering Department, Kanagawa, Japan and Koji Michishita, Shizuoka University, Shizuoka, Japan
Yasuhiro Akiyama1, Ting Wu2, Michael Stock3, Yoshitaka Nakamura4, Hiroshi Kikuchi5, Satoru Yoshida6, Tomoo Ushio7 and Zen Kawasaki1, (1)Osaka University, Osaka, Japan, (2)Osaka University, Suita, Japan, (3)Earth Networks Inc., Germantown, United States, (4)Kobe City College of Technology, Kobe, Japan, (5)Tokyo Metropolitan University, Tokyo, Japan, (6)Meteorological Research Institute, Ibaraki, Japan, (7)Osaka University, Division of Electrical, Electronic, and Infocommunications Engineering, Osaka, Japan
Yasuhide Hobara1, Hayato Ishii1, Yuri Kumagai1, Charlie Liu2, Stan Heckman3, Colin Gregory Price4 and Earle R Williams5, (1)University of Electro-Communications, Tokyo, Japan, (2)Earth Networks, Germantown, MD, United States, (3)Organization Not Listed, Washington, DC, United States, (4)Tel Aviv University, Tel Aviv, Israel, (5)Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA, United States
Stan Heckman, Organization Not Listed, Washington, DC, United States
Jaroslav Jansky and Victor P Pasko, Pennsylvania State University Main Campus, University Park, PA, United States
Roy Yaniv, Interdisciplinary Center Herzliya, Herzliyya, Israel, Yoav Yair, Open University of Israel, Raanana, Israel and Colin Gregory Price, Tel Aviv University, Tel Aviv, Israel
Yoav Yair1,2, Colin Gregory Price3, Roy Yaniv4 and Shai Katz3, (1)Interdisciplinary Center, Herzliya, Sustainability School, Herzliya, Israel, (2)The Open University of Israel, Life and Natural Sciences, Ra'anana, Israel, (3)Tel Aviv University, Tel Aviv, Israel, (4)Interdisciplinary Center Herzliya, Herzliyya, Israel
Ronald J Thomas1, Sonja A Behnke2, Harald E Edens3, Masato Iguchi4, Daisuke Miki4, Stephen R McNutt5, Alexa R Van Eaton6, Cassandra M. Smith7, Corrado Cimarelli8, Valeria Cigala9 and Sakurajima Volcanic-lightning Team, (1)New Mexico Inst Mining & Tech, Socorro, NM, United States, (2)Los Alamos National Laboratory, Los Alamos, NM, United States, (3)New Mexico Tech, Langmuir Laboratory, Socorro, NM, United States, (4)Kyoto University, Sakurajima Volcano Research Center, Disaster Prevention Research Institute, Kyoto, Japan, (5)University of South Florida Tampa, School of Geosciences, Tampa, FL, United States, (6)USGS Cascades Volcano Observatory, Vancouver, WA, United States, (7)University of South Florida Tampa, Tampa, FL, United States, (8)Ludwig Maximilians University of Munich, Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences, Munich, Germany, (9)Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich, Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences, Munich, Germany
Chung Liao Feng, Organization Not Listed, Washington, DC, United States
Leonid Nichman1, Emma Järvinen2, Robert Wagner3, James Dorsey4, António Miguel Dias5, Sebastian Ehrhart5, Jasper Kirkby6, Martin William Gallagher4, Clive P Saunders7 and CLOUD Collaboration, (1)National Research Council of Canada, Ottawa, ON, Canada, (2)Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Karlsruhe, Germany, (3)University of Helsinki, Division of Atmospheric Sciences, Department of Physics, Helsinki, Finland, (4)University of Manchester, Manchester, United Kingdom, (5)CERN European Organization for Nuclear Research, Geneva, Switzerland, (6)CERN European Organization for Nuclear Research, Physics, Geneva, Switzerland, (7)University of Manchester, Manchester, M13, United Kingdom
Kenneth L Cummins, Florida Institute of Technology, Aerospace, Physics and Space Sciences, Melbourne, United States and Christopher John Biagi, Quasar Federal Systems, San Diego, CA, United States